8am Adoration
8.30am Morning prayer
9am Holy Mass

Weekly timetable

View latest newsletter

Read today's Mass readings

Request baptismal certificates

Subscribe for notifications

Make a donation

Ask for prayer

First Communion Preparation

If you are inscribed for the First Holy Communion Preparation, you can log in here.

This year there are only nine classes (modules) and each of these will be repeated to make it easier to attend. This year more emphasis is being placed on the importance of being part of the parish community, in particular by attending Holy Mass on Sundays (or Saturday evenings) for those who wish to receive Holy Communion.

Read more about the requirements

Something to read...

Revelations of Divine Love
Julian of Norwich - a 14th century anchoress - received sixteen revelations, while lying on her deathbed and gazing on the crucifix. After she recovered, she compiled two versions of a book describing the revalations - shorter and longer, where she explored in more depth mystical visions and contemplations on universal love and hope in a time of troubles, uprisings and war.

Read now


Latest homily

See with us, often, we are tempted and after a while or almost immediately we might sin. But when by God's grace we resist a temptation we can experience that temptation as a difficult and distressing struggle. This is very clear when part of the temptation is our will wanting, being attracted to, something that our intellect knows is wrong. I want a chocolate but I've given them up for Lent. That of course can not happen with Our Lord his will his desire is always for what is truly good - but what about when a member of your family or a friend tries to make you miss Mass on a Sunday. Oh just this once they say, God won't mind, come shopping with me...

... Read more


Around the parish...

Parish boundaries

Boundaries of all parishes in the Diocese of Salford can be viewed on the boundaries page.

You can also find out which parish you are in now, if you know the postcode - visit What Parish?

Find our more about our parish.

Our Faith

Catechism of the Catholic Church

The Catechism of the Catholic Church is a compendium of Church's teaching. Split into 4 parts, it uses the Creed to present and explain what we believe, our Faith. It also explains in detail each of the seven sacraments - their their meaning, signs and effects. The ten commandments are used to present the Natural Moral Law in the light of the Gospel and the words of 'Our Father' to present the basis of Church's teaching about prayer.

If you want to find out more about the faith, please have a look at the section summaries, available for download now, in the Catechism section.

More detailed explanations and discussions will be added shortly.

Find our more about the faith.


Divine Office

The Divine Office, together with the Holy Mass forms the public prayer of the Church. It aims to sanctify the day and follow the command to pray without ceasing (cf. 1 Thessalonians 5:17). We can find the tradition of praying at certain times of the day, going at least as far back as the first Apostles (cf. Acts 3:1). A more structured form based on the Psalms first appeared with the emergence of early monastic communities, and remained in the Church ever since.

Public Morning prayer celebrated at St Joseph's Mon - Thurs at 8.30am.

View the Divine Office section for a bit more background to the Liturgy of the Hours and to view today's texts.

Find our more about prayer.
Facebook Tweeter Google+
Copyright © St Joseph's RC Church 2017